Planet Hunters Talk

KOI Ponderer -- An interactive long-cadence light-curve viewer (Mac OSX)

• rbnerfjr by rbnerfjr

This note is to announce the availability of KOI Ponderer, a Mac OSX app for interactive viewing of long-cadence light-curves associated with Kepler Objects of Interest (KOIs). I was prompted to develop the app because I could not get a feel for the data using the PlanetHunter tools, and the NASA online diagnostic displays were overwhelming. I am a retired physicist, and my research “style” was to search for ways to display the data in a way that impedance-matched it to the strengths of the human visual system. I am also lazy, so I wanted a tool that could be relatively easily used.

I won’t describe the app in detail here; the documentation mentioned below should suffice. However, an anecdote to show the goals were met: I demonstrated the app to an astronomer friend over microbrews, downloading Kepler data using the bar’s wifi. While ticking through various features of the app, we serendipitously discovered that the orbit for K00070.03 has a period 21 times that of K00070.02. This factoid may have no scientific value, but it does illustrate how a new tool can readily reveal unanticipated features in the data.

I’m making the app available because it’s unlikely I will have the time to use it or further develop it during the next few months. I hope it can be useful as is. The app is available via two routes: The executable and documentation are in a DropBox folder, and the Xcode Project with source code is available on GitHub, for those who want to roll their own.

The simplest way is to go to DropBox and download the zipped executable and the manual. For those who just want to window-shop, the pdf and the ibook provide an overview. For those without a Mac, the two mov files should be playable in Quicktime on Windows.

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/o3ry91qz8lfh7bw/AAAD5x_e1Coh8DUqDABKmJrya?dl=0
    will show a Dropbox folder containing five files: