Planet Hunters Talk

Hello from Debra Fischer!

• dfischer123 by dfischer123 scientist

Dear Planet Hunters! I'm a professor at Yale and with my postdocs and students we are working to follow up on the great discoveries that you make! Our biggest worry is that people will think that the "sims" are a waste of time - every one of those classifications is doing the hard job of calculating the corrections factors we need to make to determine the true number of transiting planets.
    We hope that you all have a great time with the new website - thanks to the Zooniverse team at Adler for their hard work in making this happen!

Posted

• SteveKennett by SteveKennett

Hi I am also a professional physicist with may years of experience. The requirement for simulated transits is simply to determine the detection efficiency of Planet Hunters users in detecting a range of transits shapes. The correction factors are necessary to estimate the total number of real transits missed in a large collection of stars. The difficulty here is that as the signal to noise ratio decreases, the detection efficiency drops to a point where a transit can't be detected. Of course with a noisy signal the rate of 'detection' of false transits also increases. There is a point where simulated transits are not useful to the user and the method of presenting large numbers of users with "look you missed this transit" is not productive. Clearly detectible example simulations in a modest number of cases is good practice in training users. However the introduction of simulated transits well below the noise level is not. If the students require information near the threshold level I am sure that this can be achieved without the need to highlight their inclusion.

Posted

• mschwamb by mschwamb scientist in response to SteveKennett's comment.

Hi,